This creates a checking transfer which is shown in the progress
display while it is running but is not kept in the completed
transfers history, so it never appears in core/transferred and is not
retained in memory after it finishes.
This is for repeated bookkeeping operations (eg directory modtime
updates) which would otherwise crowd file transfers out of the
history.